UFAA Honorary Alumnus

Honorary Alumnus

The Honorary Alumnus Award is presented by the University of Florida Alumni Association to non-alumni who have made significant contributions to the University of Florida. The College of Medicine will restrict nominees to non-alumni physicians and scientists who have made significant contributions to the UF College of Medicine in its mission of teaching, research and patient care.

Criteria for consideration:

  • Individuals honored cannot be graduates of the UF College of Medicine.
  • Individuals must have served a minimum of 10 years at the College of Medicine.
  • Individuals must have provided significant contributions to the mission of the college.
  • The recognition can be a posthumous honor.

Suggestions for nominations may be made by any alumnus, Housestaff alumnus, faculty, Housestaff or student. Suggestions are forwarded to a nominating sub-committee of the Medical Alumni Association Board and then forwarded to the Dean of the College of Medicine, who will make recommendations to the UF Alumni Association Board of Directors. The UF Alumni Association Board makes the final decision on awarding this honor.

Nominations must include:

  • Statement of evidence in justification of the nomination
  • Nominee’s curriculum vitae

Previous Honorary Alumni:

  • Kenneth Berns, MD
  • Robert Cade, MD
  • Paul W. Chun, Ph.D
  • J. Lee Dockery, MD
  • William Enneking, MD
  • Melvin Greer, MD
  • William Luttge, Ph.D
  • Shirley Graves Modell, MD
  • James F. Mondello
  • Hugh M. “Smiley” Hill, MD
  • Albert Rhoton, MD
  • Gerold Schiebler, MD
  • W. Jape Taylor, MD