Medical Alumni Board of Directors

The Medical Alumni Association Board of Directors works to advance the causes of medical education while fostering a spirit of cordiality and good fellowship among College of Medicine alumni. Board members include representatives from the College of Medicine and Housestaff alumni, School of Physician Assistant Studies alumni, faculty and current students. The Board meets twice a year and members are elected to a four-year term, beginning in the Spring.

For more information, please contact Heather Holcomb, Director of Medical Alumni Affairs. Interested in serving on the Alumni Board or want to nominate someone? Please fill out our nomination form.

Executive Committee

Mark Michels
Palm Beach Gardens, FL
MD ’85 – Ophthalmology
James B. Duke
Past President
Ocala, FL
MD ’85 – Orthopaedic Surgery
Shireen M. Sims
Gainesville, FL
MD ’01 – Obstetrics & Gynecology
Brian Taschner
Fort Myers, FL
MD ’98 – Cardiology

Board Members At-Large

Robert Black
Clearwater, FL
MD ’95 – Cardiology
Gary Gomez
Fort Lauderdale, FL
MD ’02 – Anesthesiology
Jude Masannat
Tampa, FL
PhD ’17 – Oncology
Patricia M. Calhoun
Jacksonville, FL
MD ’89 – Family Practice
Peter Katona
Los Angeles, CA
MD ’77 – Infectious Disease
Holly Neville
Miami, FL
MD ’96 – Pediatric Surgery
Robert Cooper
Indialantic, FL
MD ’84 – Surgery
Herbert Knauf III
Clearwater, FL
MD ’92 Ophthalmology
Sonja Rasmussen
Gainesville, FL
MD ’90 – Pediatrics
Kathy Connery
Gainesville, FL
PA ’77 – Hematology
Rhodes M. Kriete
Indialantic, FL
MD ’88 – Nephrology

Honorary Board Members

Mark A. Adkins
Kinston, NC
MD ’82 – Radiology
David A. Libert
Maitland, FL
MD ’82 – Family Practice
Gina M. Sevigny
Ormond Beach, FL
MD ’94 – Dermatology
Sunil N. Joshi
Jacksonville, FL
MD ’98 – Allergy & Immunology
Wendie Moore
Ocala, FL
MD ’92 – Radiology

Faculty Board Members

Joseph A. Tyndall, MD, MPH
Interim Dean, College of Medicine
Gainesville, FL
Emergency Medicine
W. Patrick Duff, MD
Associate Dean for Student Affairs
Gainesville, FL
Obstetrics & Gynecology
Joseph Fantone, MD
Senior Associate Dean for Educational Affairs
Gainesville, FL

Student Board Members

Zohair Zaidi
Medical College Council President

Alumni Admissions Interview Committee Members

Angeli Akey
Gainesville, FL
MD ’93 – Internal Medicine
Wendie Moore
Ocala, FL
MD ’92 – Radiology