We're halfway there Legacy Challenge graphic

The Legacy Challenge

The UF College of Medicine is recruiting you and other alumni and friends to join our team. As medical school expenses in this country continue to rise at a rapid pace, your commitment to our students will leave a lasting legacy for future generations. Your gift supporting scholarships helps the best students obtain the world-class education they need and deserve.

Legacy Challenge Recruits

The Class of 1960
In memory of Dr. Joseph A. Walton Jr., ’60 courtesy of his family
Dr. Jean Bennett ’60
Dr. Angelo and Mrs. Alberta Anaclerio ’62
Dr. Harvey and Mrs. Donna Thalblum ’65
Dr. Randall Hobgood ’70
Dr. Jo-Anne Stenger ’74
Drs. Barbara and Dennis Williams ’75
Dr. Livingston L. Eaddy ’75
Dr. John and Mrs. Melissa Hendrickson ’75
In memory of J. Stephen Waters, '75, by his wife Shelley Waters and family
Dr. Donna and Mr. Allen Baytop ’76
Dr. Peter Katona ’77
Dr. Michael D. Maddox ’77
Dr. Maude Lofton ’79
Dr. Charles and Mrs. Debrah Barish ’80
Dr. William H. Cooper IV ’81
Dr. Katherine J. Pierce ’82
Dr. James O’Mailia ’82
Dr. E. William Akins III ’83
Dr. Carlos and Mrs. Sandra Donayre ’83
Dr. Robert Cooper ’84
Dr. Mark and Mrs. Lyn Michels ’85
Dr. Jim and Mrs. Pam Duke ’85
Dr. Michael and Danette Good HS ’88
Dr. Rhodes Kriete ’88
Dr. R. Dean and Mrs. Elizabeth Hautamaki ’89
Dr. Herbert Knauf III ’92
Dr. Noel and Mrs. Erica Maun ’92
Dr. Jason and Mrs. Denise Rosenberg ’95
Dr. G. Nicholas Verne, HS ’95
Dr. Craig Banull, ’96, and Dr. Katherine Banull, ’97
Dr. Fred and Mrs. Loan Huang ’96
Dr. Karen Reeves, ’96
Drs. Brian and Kavitha Taschner ’98
Dr. Francis and Mrs. Kelly Herrbold ’98
Dr. Stephanie Hollis and Mr. Brian Bosley ’00
Dr. Stephanie Walker ’00
Drs. Shireen and Steven Sims ’01
Dr. Wayne Cheng ’02
Dr. Peter W. Orobello Scholarship established by family and friends
Dr. Henry and Mrs. Susan Baker
The Musikantow Foundation


Their Future, Your Legacy

Xavier Williams

When faced with hardship, third-year medical student Xavier Williams keeps a clear mind by reminding himself that passion and motivation trump all else.

A first-generation college student, Xavier aims to receive both his doctor of medicine and master of public health degrees from UF by 2020. With a concentration on public health practice and global health, the Ralph G. Blodgett Scholarship recipient wants to devote himself to serving the underrepresented.

Learn more about Xavier button



Bryan Erb

For recent graduate Bryan Erb, practicing medicine involves more than a prescription pad. It requires a pair of open ears and the ability to empathize.

A U.S. Navy veteran, Bryan has long been interested in neuroscience — how the dysregulation of neurotransmitters affects mental health, for example — and after completing two rotations in psychiatry, he became fascinated with the role of neuroscience in treating mental health. He is about to embark on his dream of completing a residency in psychiatry in part because of support from the Alfred J. Dickhaus, M.D., Scholarship.

Learn more about Bryan button



Alexis Germain

For second-year medical student Alexis Germain, receiving the Dean’s Preeminence Scholarship means freedom — freedom to pursue the fields she’s interested in.

Alexis, who received a bachelor’s degree in biology from Tufts University, is intrigued by the field of geriatric care. When she was an emergency medical technician in Massachusetts, she worked with many elderly patients, transporting them to regular appointments for dialysis or assisting them after a fall.

She’s also interested in oncology, specifically in the emerging areas of personalized medicine and targeted therapy, which pinpoint an individual’s mutation instead of treating his or her diagnosis.

Learn more about Alexis button


dividerAre you in?

Establish an endowed scholarship

Create a new named scholarship with a gift of $100,000 or more, one of the most meaningful and enduring ways to support the UF College of Medicine. Endowed scholarships can be either need- or merit-based and are critical to the College of Medicine because they generate predictable (4 percent annually), growing streams of income in perpetuity.

Sponsor a medical student

Sponsor a medical student with a gift of $20,000, payable over four years, to provide $5,000 annually to recruit the most competitive medical students.

Plan for your future & help students

Include the College of Medicine in your estate plans or consider a planned gift. We can work with you, your family, and your advisers to help you create a plan that meets both your financial and charitable goals.

Contact us today

Please contact the Office of Development and Alumni Affairs at with any questions. Download a fact sheet about the need for scholarships and the Legacy Challenge.


See how others are shaping medical education at UF!